top of page

Are you dying of dementia?

As I was trying to come up with an idea of what to name this blog post, I remembered being on TikTok and absolutely loving this sound.


And to answer my question, yes. I sometimes feel like I have second hand dementia from working with the senior living.


Also as I was thinking of how to thinking of how to make this interesting, I decided to make it a nice narrative story and a regular less engaging story.


Prologue- How I contracted this job.

Early October 2018


When I was in 11th grade, I didn't have my license, yet I had a black sweet two-door BMW sitting in the drive way of my house but no license because that make sense. It was my fault, don't get me wrong. I could have been driving but... That's another narrative for later. (Also my parents didn't feel like paying for car insurance either tho so)


Fortunately for me, my neighbor down the street from me was a spoiled great friend of mine and she didn't have a license either. Before the first day of 11th grade for me and 12th grade for her, she asked me if I wanted a ride to school because she didn't want to be seen riding on the bus. (Absolutely nothing wrong with public transportation, in fact, I love public transportation)


In early October of 2018, I was sitting next to my neighbor and I told her, "Dude, I need a job."


"Same," She agrees with me.


Her mother says from the front seat, "We're hiring," She turns down the Christian music she always plays, "you can apply to my company." (She didn't say my company but like I rather not give away my location like that)


I couldn't have been more thankful.


After she gave me a talk about the pay and what exactly I would have to, I have never said thank you so many times. When we got to school, I asked my neighbor what does she do for the senior living community and she replied with, "She's the director or something like that."


I pause in the middle of the hallway thinking, it was a good reason that I was always so respectful of her mother.


I texted my parental guardians and told them what had happened...

 

After having an interview with the best boss I will ever have, (besides myself) I had to have a bubble in my arm ( a tubuculosis test, I butchered that spelling so bad that not even autocorrect could help me lol) , I had to pee in a cup for a drug test and buy some work clothes. It was November 1, 2018 when I first started working there.


BEFORE COVID


I worked at a senior living community (notice how I didn't call it a nursing home) nearby for the past two years of my life. I served (I was basically a waitress without them paying for the food or getting tips because the residents live on the campus of the senior living community) food to the independent living. (Retired, rich, and able to live on their own) (They live around the main building but still on campus) My job was very nice and easy. All I had to do was give the resisents drinks, take the resident's order, give them food, and check on them after about 5 minutes. The only hard part was memorizing names. I was the perfect server.


I was about to get the team leader position (leader of dinner) until somewhere near October 2019, my manager got fired and we got this daughter of an idiot for a boss. (I named my seasonal depression after her, hys Debra lol) (I'm kidding, I hope you find your mind one day tho, wishing you peace and love) I have never been so angry... well I have but like I have never been so angry at work. Y'a know?


But that all changed when COVID happened.


THE NOW ( as much as I would love to call it after, we still in quarantine bc there's just a lot going on over here bruh)


When my world shut down in March, they said that none of the High schoolers were able to come back to work. (Great for me because I was having a depressive episode and I don't even remember what I was doing then, but I was also planning to quit)


After two weeks, I was asked to work over with assistant living and deliver food to their room. While doing this, we were told that we had to get tested for COVID every two weeks.


Other than the COVID test violating my brain, it is easy an my coworkers were lots of fun; were more accepting than my other ones. They helped me through so much and they're always so supportive. I love you guys and thank you for letting me be myself.


As much as I complain about my job, I truly am grateful for my experiences and the impression I have left on the senior living.


With peace, love and positivity,

Yours truly,


Syddnii Senpai🖤


@syddnii.senpai.shop on Instagram (My etsy shop's page)

@syddniisenpai Tiktok, Twitter, and Pinterest

@the.tyrant on Instagram (My writing page)

@Tyrantttt on Wattpad. https://www.etsy.com/shop/SyddniiSenpaiShop (Anime themed Etsy shop)


Recent Posts

See All

But like what was the reason

Okay, Okay. I know I haven't posted in awhile but that is because Wix changed the app on the phone and I will need to download a new one and I don't wanna do that so instead I'm on my computer writing

bottom of page